品牌的 “抗疫” 转变

​随着全球COVID-19传染的增长,越来越多的人已经生活在隔离的环境里。各国政府试图通过使用“social distancing — 社会距离”一词来强调留在家中的重要性。“社会距离”意味着与其他人保持6英尺的距离,以降低传播感染的风险。

看来知名品牌同样也在遵循这个政策…

麦当劳、可口可乐和Chiquita等众多国际品牌迅速采取行动,即刻重新设计自己品牌的标识。

虽然这种策略看上去像是营销天才手段,但并非所有人都同意。在Siegel+Gale执行创意总监Douglas Sellers的眼里,“当前的全球形势可不是开玩笑的,这是一个严重的问题。品牌设计的社会距离标识有可能减轻我们正在经历的情况的严重性”。

实际上, Doug老哥,条条大路通罗马。在“严肃而有意义–但代价昂贵”的这一项上,LVMH集团和Gap无疑得分最高。他们更改了生产线,为的是生产消毒剂和口罩。甚至在超级重量级的“认真对待”上,Ford和Tesla开始制造呼吸机了。不分事态大小,对于现在,做些对人类有意义的事才是最重要的。

大家注意身体。

PIG为OPPO Lamborghini制作全3D宣传片



PIG最近与OPPO合作拍摄了Find X2 Pro手机兰博基尼版的最新影片!这款特殊版手机基于Aventador SVJ Roadster(限800量),背面采用碳纤维纹理,相机边缘镀金,同时也采用了漂亮的黑色和铜色调,与超跑完全平行。

全片:链接

PIG制作的这部全3D影片是由动画集体WIZZ里的Unit Motion导演们精心完成的(更多关于WIZZ)。在30秒的短片里WIZZ完美的体现了手机和超跑的设计融合。

客户 Client:OPPO
导演 Director: Unit Motion at WIZZ
制片 Production: P.I.G. CHINA



#有我就没完# 连续双片合作

Under Armour

2020年爱德玛全球品牌 #有我就没完 系列,其中金源与朱婷的影片由P.I.G. China在天津与上海全程拍摄。此系影片是响应爱德玛今年最新的品牌宣传语:

成为更好并不容易,没有捷径、没有作弊代码、没有快速修复,只能是努力。只要有我,就没完。”

全片:金源
全片:朱婷

#有我就没完 集结了全球数十位职业运动员,如:斯蒂芬库里、迈克尔菲尔等,来诠释这条口号的战役精神,也是品牌推广的意义所在。这次,中国系列请来了前国家队田径中长跑运动员金源和中国排球国家队队员朱婷,进行录制拍摄。

P.I.G. China 与爱德玛已是第三次合作了!这次我们的团队去了天津中国女排学院,与朱婷进行为期2天的拍摄。紧接著回到上海,在短短两天时间内和金源跑遍了六个不同的场地完成这场拍摄。

这两支短片将于今年春季与其他支 #有我就没完 系列影片在全球媒体平台上问世。

天才动画集体WIZZ

嘿,你好呀!

WIZZ 是一家 动画、混合媒体和设计超级集体。

WIZZ Animation Collective

WIZZ 自诩为一个“设计实验室”,热衷于创作二维和三维动画等多媒体素材。更重要的是, WIZZ 热衷于和他们的导演一起集思广益拓展结合以上模式的艺术产业以及技术工具。


对于商业广告、MV、电影、电视剧或相关的需求,WIZZ致力于成为一个真诚的创作说书伙伴。

Oppo Find X2 Lamborghini Aventador Edition

WIZZ 导演 — Unit Motion,最近与PIG合作为OPPO Find X2 Lamborghini Aventador 版手机创作了一部30秒的广告片。点击观看

NIke “Never Ask” (Cannes Gold Lion)

WIZZ工作室里的动画团队CRCR所创作的Nike《Never Ask》Campaign 荣获2019年法国戛纳广告节的金狮奖,及荣获2018年欧洲最佳银奖。

了解更多

赛车手Ken Block与PIG给你带来漂移大片Climbkhana 2:横走天门山

2019年12月–赛车手Ken Block(砖叔)最新的漂移大片Climbkhana 2: Heaven’s Gate Road 横走天门山 由美国Hoonigan Media MachinePIG 的协助下制作完成,大家辛苦了!

全片:链接

2018年,许多人担心《Gymkhana 10》标志着汽车最大的病毒视频系列的结束。但车手Ken Block又来了并推出了新的系列片Climbkhana。该系列由Toyo TiresForza MortorsportOmaze赞助。这次,Block和Hoonigan Media Machine在 PIG 的支持下,带着一辆914马力的福特F-150 Hoonitruck前往位于中国深处的张家界,登上了世上最危险的道路之一,拍摄了《Climbkhana 2:横走天门山》。 

提起天门山,Ken Block说“大约五年前,我在网上发现了一张照片,照片上的疯狂的道路由无数个急转弯组成的,有时这些急转还会自行交叉“

Climbkhana 2的导演Brian Scotto说“在过去的几年里,该地区也拍摄过一些其他的视屏,但对于我们来说,我们的亮点就是我们独特的电影制作风格和Ken的狂野驾驶。这条路很神奇,但也很无情。

5台RED摄像机,2架无人机以及20多个GoPro同时跑来捕Ken Block惊人的驾驶…

PIG作品“The Waste Race”获取19年金投赏

Adidas The Waste Race

 

跑步,可不只是穿上运动鞋沿着公园溜达几圈 – 它也能够作为走向伟大目标的一部分。阿迪达斯最新的全球广告系列片“重构跑步“(Recode Running)就是来探索跑步有助于完成我们生活中哪些目标。在这一系列转型的影片里描述了上海的“顺手捡跑团”(Trash Running)如何将集体运动与街道清洁相结合,改善城市、改善人民生活,激发动力。

全片:链接

 

 

“重构跑步”正在全球多家媒体平台上转播。该影片是由阿姆斯特丹的Brand Articulation和姐妹创意公司公司Lore战略咨询公司策划成型。导演Daniel Kaufman来自Anonymous Content和Somesuch。影片拍摄由P.I.G. CHINA在中国上海完成。

 

屁哥:任航

Ren

中国艺术家任航于2017年2月24日自杀,时年29岁

SK-II最新短片庆祝国际妇女节 #改写命运

护肤品宝贝SK-II继续支持中国的单身女性,通过其 《#改写命运》(#changedestiny) 计划,SK-II推出了一部探索传统家庭对婚姻期望的全新纪录片。

全片:链接

这部短纪录片《来半路见我》讲述了:三位聪明的中国单身女士在多年的婚姻压力和恐惧下,逃避跟家人一起过年,但最后终于向父母敞开心扉的故事。

SK-II希望能够鼓励关于婚姻期望的公开对话,并成为世界各地女性对自己生活选择更加自信的一种动力来源。

来半路见我》是Forsman & Bodenfors公司的创意,由弗洛伊德·罗斯导演 (Floyd Russ),Tool of North America制作。纪录片的全程拍摄是由P.I.G. CHINA在中国不同地区完成的。

中国动画淘金热

中国动画电影票房虽然大有潜力,但是却没有哪个动画公司力压群雄首屈一指。正因如此,业内各大公司已经纷纷涉足动画电影,趁机一展身手。

2015年,《西游记:大圣归来》打破动画电影票房纪录,大获成功,票房高达9.56亿人民币(1.39亿美元),这让很多人看到了动画电影的巨大潜力,跃跃欲试。

40150de413911ab十月动画工作室制作《西游记:大圣归来》

另一方面,梦工厂等动画公司很早就看到了中国市场的巨大潜力,早在2012年,梦工厂携手三家中国投资者,注资3.5亿美元(24亿人民币)打造了东方梦工厂,落户中国,这样就可以省去外国电影进驻中国的繁琐程序。

中国政府大力推动动画产业发展,给予补贴和奖励机制,大力推动中国创意产业的发展,推动中国的软实力,以期最终在世界舞台大放异彩。政府积极促进国际合作,鼓励国内外联手打造电影,新西兰和英国多家公司都纷纷与中国公司展开合作。

Oriental DreamWorks东方梦工厂

与此同时,中国也逐渐开始转型,不甘只做外包公司,而是致力于打造原创内容。很多服务型公司都着手打造原创内容,其中就包括中国顶尖的特效公司Base FX和经验丰富的CG工作室原力,两家公司都曾参与过多部知名动画电影。

一些知名电影公司也纷纷涉足动画电影,2015年10月,光线传媒成立“Color Room”,专注动画和真人电影,投资孵化IP,管控制作。此外,华谊兄弟也成立点睛动画影业,每年要打造四部动画电影。

1东方梦工厂与梦工厂联合制作的首部作品:《功夫熊猫3》

不少公司也都跨界纷纷打入动画领域。互联网巨头腾讯成立了腾讯影业,现已开发制作了21个影视项目。2015年,广东玩具服装剧透奥飞宣布,以9亿人民币(1.41亿美元)收购原创动漫网络平台“有妖气漫画网”,致力于把网站IP打造成电影。

一路荆棘

诚然,中国是动画产业发展的沃土,但是却面临这诸多不确定性。现如今票房补贴远不及2015年,电影销量增长远不如预期那么迅猛,票房也不像之前很多人预测的那样,将在2017年一跃成为全球最大票房基地。而且竞争异常激烈,国产电影你追我赶,同时还要面临来势汹汹的外国电影 – 中国每年都有一定的国外电影份额。

1-20日本动画:《你的名字》

现在,中国还没有哪个人尽皆知的动画电影公司,也没有家喻户晓的动画导演,众所周知的动画形象也是少之又少。大多数情况下,中国公司都是要从头打造动画IP,不断摸索,或者购买图书、游戏、玩具版权,再进一步打造成有吸引力的动画。但是,优秀的动画编剧并不多见,大多数有才的编剧都去写电影了,这是因为电影相对更有市场潜力。

另外,观众的品味也是日新月异,难以揣摩。如果还是认为中国观众没有品位,只愿意看中国神话故事和特效,那就大错特错了。观众和影评人对二流故事总会嗤之以鼻,共产党的喉舌《人民日报》近日发表文章抨击了“恶意满满、不可靠负责”的影评人。

p2217523557有妖气制作《十万个冷笑话》

最近涌现了一系列成功的电影,如《大鱼海棠》、《十万个冷笑话》、日本独立动画《你的名字》,我们希望动画创作者能因此受到鼓舞。

正因为这种不确定性,很多本土动画公司的目标都不仅仅是国内观众。不论是不是首部动画电影,很多公司都表示他们最终的目标是要面向全球市场。

彼岸天文化制作《大鱼海棠》

点睛动画CEO Joe Aguilar表示,中国动画公司要想取得成功,有两点关键因素。首先是中国的“丰富内容”,“中国文化在世界各地更受欢迎,所以中国可以无限打造原创内容,”他说。话虽如此,但是动画电影也好,真人电影也罢,没有任何一部中国电影打入欧美主流市场。原因可能在于东西方讲故事技巧上的根本差异。很多动画公司高管都指出,中国的故事结构太散,西方观众看不懂。

随着越来越多的中国内容进入人们的视野,希望观众的品味可能也会因此改变,但这也不是一朝一夕就能发生。另外,Aguilar提出另外一点在于,电影需要“注重国际化的表现手法,要让全球观众都能接受” – 正因如此,几乎所有想要打入国际市场的动画公司都会在洛杉矶设立内容开发部门,或者是高管都要有过好莱坞工作经验。

动画电影首秀集锦

今年,好几家新涉足动画电影产业的公司都将迎来首部电影。

原力发行的首部动画电影《Duck Duck Goose》就是其中的佼佼者。原力在好莱坞和中国都有着几十年的丰富经验,似乎已经万事俱备,动画电影处女秀势必真材实料。

MV5BOTU4ODYxMjItNWNhZS00ZDIzLWFjMWUtMzQ3MjU1ODY1MDEzXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyMjExMzEyNTM@._V1_原力动画制作《Duck Duck Goose》

Then there is Light Chaser Animation, the Beijing studio founded by Tudou founder and billionaire, Gary Wang. Wang raised eyebrows by assuming writing and directing duties for the studio’s debut feature in 2015, despite having never previously written or directed an animated film. He reprises the role for this year’s follow up, “Tea Pets”.

此外,北京追光动画也值得一提,这家公司是由土豆网创始人亿万富翁王微所创立的。2015年,毫无动画导演和编剧经验的王微亲自操刀追光动画首部动画电影,担任编剧和导演,不免让人大吃一惊。这部电影的角色也将继续延续,今年打造成《阿唐小来的奇幻之旅》。

追光动画制作《阿唐小来的奇幻之旅》

广州易动文化传播有限公司也将发行首部原创动画电影《美食大冒险》,该片的原型是系列动画《包强》,这部3D立体动画讲述的是食物大冒险,由易动与21世纪福克斯强强联手共同打造。在今年所要发行的原创IP电影中,只有《美食大冒险》有一定的粉丝基础。

易动文化制作《美食大冒险》

青岛泽灵文化传媒致力于打造创意内容,创作动画、真人电影视剧、游戏、纸媒IP,今年也将发行首部动画电影《Watch The Skies》。这部片子的制作采用了西方工作室的模式,即自己创作经营IP,制作外包给本地公司。

中国动画电影的蓬勃发展会让我们看到更加逼真的角色表演和制作水准。中国观众不会容忍次品,最关键的还是在于故事方面。能否满足观众的品味尚不可知,所以各个公司的首部动画可能都会谨慎起见。我们是不是会看到有着中国元素的好莱坞电影 – 就如同《功夫熊猫》系列一样,抑或旗帜鲜明的中国旋律会大放异彩?就如同田晓鹏执导《大圣归来》,还有梁旋、张春执导《大鱼海棠》一样,动画导演能否有有足够的时间和信任去实现他们的远大志向呢?今年,想必我们就会找到答案了。

微笑行动公益广告,感人至深

P.I.G. CHINA携手法国制作公司QUAD和北京杰尔思行广告微笑行动(Operation Smile)打造了一支暖心广告。微笑行动专门为患有唇腭裂及其他头面部畸形的贫困家庭儿童提供免费医疗的非盈利性慈善机构。影片演绎的是一个上海的小女孩在雾霾天面戴口罩,充满喜悦的画面。直到最后谜底才揭晓:她之所以喜欢戴口罩是为了掩藏她的唇腭裂伤疤。小女孩滴流圆的大眼睛可爱极了,让我们看到似乎中国对唇腭裂儿童的歧视有所弱化,然而现实生活并非如此。

全片:链接

该片由Henry Mason担纲导演以及Rain Li担任摄影导演,在上海及其周边取景,在两天内拍摄完成。调色和特效由FIN Design and Effects完成,背景舒缓的钢琴曲则由Green United Music (GUM)所创作。微笑行动希望这部制作精美的短片能唤醒人们的意识,停止对唇腭裂儿童的歧视。

Brands split over Covid-19

As COVID-19 spreads around the globe, more and more people find themselves living under lockdown. Governments try to make people understand the importance of staying home by using the term “social distancing”, which means standing 6 feet apart from other people in an effort to lower the risk of transmitting infections.

It seems that the brands are doing it too….

McDonald’s, Coca-Cola and Chiquita are also among the many international brands to have quickly moved to redesigned their logos.

While this may seem like marketing genius, not everybody agrees. Douglas Sellers, executive creative director for Siegel+Gale says, “Our current global situation is no joke. It’s a serious matter, and brands designing social distancing logos have the potential to diminish the severity of what we are going through.”

Well actually, Doug, many roads lead to Rome. In the category of “serious and meaningful (and costly)”, LVMH group and Gap definitely score higher. They’ve retooled production lines to make sanitizers and masks. And you even have Ford and Tesla over yonder in the “butt-clenchingly serious” category; they’re making ventilators! At the end of the day, every little bit counts. Comic relief, laugh a little.

Stay safe.

PIG’s latest all 3D film for OPPO Lamborghini



PIG’s recent collaboration with OPPO culminated in our latest film for our client’s Find X2 Pro mobile phone, Lamborghini edition! The special edition model is based on the Lamborghini Aventador SVJ Roadster (limit 800 production units) and features a carbon-fiber textured phone back, gold plated camera edges and comes in sleek black and copper tones, perfectly in parallel to the coveted supercar.

Watch the full film here.

The PIG-produced film is an entirely 3D feat, exquisitely excuted by Unit Motion, part of the Animation Collective WIZZ (more infor here). The 30-second film perfectly highlights the seemless integration of the supercar’s design components into the Find X2 Pro.

客户 Client:OPPO
导演 Director: Unit Motion at WIZZ
制片 Production: P.I.G. CHINA



PIG x Under Armour in back-to-back films

Under Armour

P.I.G. China‘s 2nd and 3rd time working with Under Armour in the past year sees two films showcasing Zhu Ting (volleyball) and Jin Yuan (track and field) in #TheOnlyWayIsThrough global campaign. UA’s message: “Improvement isn’t easy. There are no shortcuts. No cheat codes. No quick fixes. Just hard work. The only way is through.

Watch Jin Yuan’s full film here (running).
Watch Zhu Ting’s full film here (volleyball).

#TheOnlyWayIsThrough brings together global athletes including Dwayne Johnson, Stephen Curry and Michael Phelps to promote the spirit of its slogan. For the China segment, we follow two leading ladies: former national team track and field runner Jin Yuan (金源) and national volleyball player Zhu Ting (朱婷).

These are the 2nd and 3rd collaborations between P.I.G. China and Under Armour, to date! Our team traveled to Tianjin’s National Women’s Volleyball Institute to shoot with Zhu Ting while Jin Yuan’s film was shot in 2 days across 6 venues in Shanghai.

The films will be featured with other in the series in Under Armour’s #TheOnlyWayIsThrough campaign across global media platforms this spring.

The animation WIZZ kids

Hi, have we met?

WIZZ is an animation & mixed media power collective, comprised of talented directors.

WIZZ Animation Collective

You can think of them as a graphics laboratory. Madly in love with 2D, 3D, stop motion, mixed media and the works. Above all, what WIZZ directors love to do is developing whole new artistic worlds and tools.

For commercials, music videos, films, series or something in between, WIZZ is dedicated to true creative storytelling.

Oppo Find X2 Lamborghini Aventador Edition

WIZZ directors, Unit Motion, recently worked with PIG for our clients over at Oppo (read more about it here). The result is an artfully crafted teaser film for the upcoming Oppo Find X2 Lamborghini Aventador Edition.

NIke “Never Ask” (Cannes Gold Lion)

CRCR, another group of WIZZ directors, helped Nike create the “Never Ask” campaign which won the Cannes Lions (Gold) in 2019.

Learn more about WIZZ.

Climbkhana 2: PIG teams up with Ken Block & Hoonigan Media

Racer Ken Block‘s latest drift blockbuster “Climbkhana 2: Heaven’s Gate Road” was released globally on November 18th. The film was produced by Hoonigan Media Machine with the collaboration of PIG. Great work everyone!

Watch the full film here.

Some feared 2018’s Gymkhana TEN marked the end of automotive’s largest viral video franchise, but Ken Block is back with the second installment of the acclaimed series’ spin-off Climbkhana, presented by Toyo TiresForza Motorsport and Omaze. This time, Block and the Hoonigan Media Machine, supported by PIG, traveled to one of the world’s most dangerous roads, located deep in the heart of China, with his 914 horsepower Ford F-150 Hoonitruck to film Climbkhana TWO: Heaven’s Gate Road

About five years ago, I found a photo on the internet of this crazy road made of multiple switch backs that actually crossed over itself,” says Ken Block. “Before I even discovered where in the world it was, I knew we had to go film there. As we did more research, I realized we may have found the greatest road ever. It’s like a European tarmac rally stage-but turned out to 11-and, it’s set in a wild scene that looks stolen right out of the movie Avatar. ” 

Located in Zhangjiajie, Hunan Province, China, in a region that actually did inspire James Cameron’s 2009 epic Sci-Fi film, the Heaven’s Gate Mountain Highway (天门山公路)climbs 11 Kilometers across a ribbon of concrete that bends over 99 times through lush foliage and precariously located cliff drops. It’s considered so dangerous that the public is forbidden to drive on it. And while similar in basic design to the location for the first film: Pikes Peak, this road is almost half as wide in most places, and the consequences way more frightening. 

Over the past couple years, a few other projects have been filmed in the region, but we really wanted to bring our unique style of filmmaking and Ken Block’s wild driving to this road to show it in a way it hasn’t been seen before” says Climbkhana TWO’s Director Brian Scotto. “This road is amazing, but also very unforgiving, which ironically is its best attribute.

Of all of Ken Block’s vehicles, the Hoonitruck seemed the least suited for this incredibly narrow road, which at some points is skinnier than the highly modified, AWD truck is long. But its massive proportions, only make the feat ever more impressive.

The juxtaposition of this massive American pickup truck and that tiny road was just too perfect, even if it made it way harder and sketchier to for me to drive,” says Block.  

5 Red Cameras, 2 drones, and over 20 GoPros ran simultaneously to capture Ken Block’s breathtaking driving prowess…

PIG takes home ROI award for The Waste Race

Adidas The Waste Race

 

Running. It’s not just putting your sneakers on and jogging around the park – it can be a part of something much bigger. That’s what Adidas is exploring in the new global campaign “Recode Running” showcasing what the brand calls transformational stories of running.

Watch the full film here.

 

 

In one of two, new long form films, Shanghai’s “Trash Runners” combine social running with street cleaning to improve the city, people’s lives, and to build a movement.

 

 

The “Recode Running” campaign, which is airing globally on YouTube and other platforms, is the brainchild of Amsterdam strategic consultancy Brand Articulation and its sister creative studio Lore, and the films were directed by Daniel Kaufman of Anonymous Content / Somesuch. Production was realized in Shanghai, China by P.I.G. CHINA.

PIGMAN: Ren Hang

Ren

Chinese artist Ren Hang committed suicide on Feb 24th, at the age of 29

#changedestiny SK-II Celebrates Women’s Day with latest film

Skincare darling SK-II continues to support China’s single women through its #changedestiny campaign with a new film exploring traditional family expectations on marriage.

Watch full film here.

The short documentary “Meet Me Halfway” follows three bright and single Chinese ladies as they finally reach out and open up to their parents after years of avoidance due to marriage pressure fears. 

SK-II hopes to encourage open dialogue about marriage expectations and be a source of empowerment for women everywhere to feel more confident about their life choices.

The brainchild of agency Forsman & Bodenfors, directed by Floyd Russ and produced by Tool of North America, “Meet Me Halfway” was entirely shot on location in different parts of China by P.I.G CHINA.

The Chinese Animation Gold Rush

With a huge potential box office rewards and no established domestic studio brands dominating the playing field, the enormous opportunity for creators of animated movies has seen a collective mobilization across the media ecosystem towards the genre.

For some, the catalyst was the enormous success of 2015’s “Monkey King: Hero Returns”, which earned 956 million yuan ($139m) at the box office and shattered the previous record for a full CG animation.

40150de413911abMonkey King: Hero Returns, produced by October Annimation Studio

Others, like DreamWorks, saw the market potential years ago.  In 2012 the company struck a $350m (2.4bn yuan) joint venture deal with three Chinese investment companies to form a studio on the ground in China, Oriental DreamWorks, which could circumvent the foreign film quota.

The government has played its part, offering grants and incentives for companies to make animation, eager to promote China’s creative evolution and production of soft power products that it can ultimately wield on the world stage.  That initiative has included facilitating international coproduction treaties, enabling substantial moviemaking partnerships, like those between China and companies in New Zealand and the UK.

Oriental DreamWorksOriental DreamWorks

Meanwhile, as China transitions from outsourcing destination to original creator, former service companies are turning to original content creation, like China’s leading visual effects provider, Base FX, and veteran CG studio Original Force, both of whom have major animated features in the works.

Established live action studios are getting in on the act too.  In October 2015, Beijing Enlight Media formed ‘Color Room’, an animation and live action division, to invest, incubate IP, and manage productions, while Huayi Brothers has also established an animation arm, Wink, to develop four animation features every year.

1Kung Fu Panda 3, co-produced by Oriental DreamWorks and DreamWorks

Companies with interests across multiple industries are adding animation to their portfolios.  Internet behemoth Tencent created film production arm, Tencent Pictures, which is developing and producing a diverse slate of 21 film and TV projects, while in 2015, Alpha, a giant Guangdong toy and clothing conglomerate, announced a 900 million yuan ($141 million) acquisition of original internet comic platform U17.com, with a view to converting the IP into movies.

Tough Terrain

The ground in China may be fertile, but the climate is uncertain. Fewer tickets are being subsidised than they were in 2015, sales are growing more slowly than expected and the Chinese box office won’t, as many had predicted, become the world’s largest in 2017.  Moreover, competition is fierce. The growing number of new Chinese films will compete with each other and a relentless onslaught of offerings from the established global big guns that make it in to China as part of the import quota.

1-20Japanese Animation: Your Name

There is no established Chinese animated entertainment brand, no household name animation directors or studios and very few known properties. In most cases, Chinese studios must develop IP from scratch, guessing what will work, or buy the rights to book, game or toy properties with an existing following and try to convert them in to compelling motion pictures. However, good animation writers are hard to come by, with the best talent historically drawn to the relatively better prospects in live action.

Moreover, the tastes of the rapidly morphing audience are as unpredictable as ever. The lazy assumption about unsophisticated masses that eat up Chinese mythology and spectacular visual effects is outdated. Audiences and reviewers are fiercely critical of sub par stories, recently prompting Party mouthpiece People’s Daily to publish an editorial piece slamming ‘vicious and irresponsible’ critics.

p2217523557One Hundred Thousand Bad Jokes, produced by YouYaoQi

The hope is that creators will be emboldened by the successes of ‘alternative’ films like the auteur driven “Big Fish & Begonia”, adult fare like “100,000 Bad Jokes” and Japanese indie efforts like “Your Name”, all of which demonstrate that there is a significant market for edgier content.

The unpredictability may partly explain why Chinese animation studios aren’t placing all their bets on the domestic audience. Whether for their first film release or a later offering, almost all studios say the eventual target is the global market.

Big Fish & Begonia, produced by Biantian Media

Joe Aguilar, CEO at Wink, says that for an animation studio in China to succeed, there are two key considerations.  The first is China’s ‘content wealth.’  “Chinese culture is more popular in the global market, and can produce infinite original stories with Chinese elements,” he says.  That may be true, but no Chinese film, animated or otherwise, has yet cracked the major US or European markets. One explanation may be a fundamental difference in storytelling sensibility between the East and the West.  Many senior studio executives have pointed to a looser Chinese story structure that is inaccessible to the West.

Western tastes might evolve with greater exposure to Chinese content, but that process will take years. In the meantime, Aguilar’s second point – that movies need to “emphasize international ways of expression, which make the movies globally more acceptable”- is the reason almost all studios with serious designs on the global market have established development studios in L.A. and/or installed Hollywood experience in executive positions.

The First Batch

This year will see the first serious runners among the multiple newcomers to the Chinese animated features race.

“Duck Duck Goose”, the first release from Original Force, is the pick of the bunch.  Led by a triumvirate boasting decades of experience in both Hollywood and China, the studio has seemingly all the right elements to create something of real quality for its debut feature.

MV5BOTU4ODYxMjItNWNhZS00ZDIzLWFjMWUtMzQ3MjU1ODY1MDEzXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyMjExMzEyNTM@._V1_Duck Duck Goose, produced by Original Force

Then there is Light Chaser Animation, the Beijing studio founded by Tudou founder and billionaire, Gary Wang.  Wang raised eyebrows by assuming writing and directing duties for the studio’s debut feature in 2015, despite having never previously written or directed an animated film.  He reprises the role for this year’s follow up, “Tea Pets”.

Tea Pets, produced by Light Chaser Animation

Guangzhou’s Yi Animation will release its first original movie, “Kung Food”, the feature film adaptation of the studio’s TV series, “Super Bao”, a stereoscopic 3D movie about living pieces of food uniting to prevent bland flavours from conquering the world. Coproduced by 21st Century Fox, the “Kung Food” is the only IP among this year’s contenders to have any existing fan base in China.

Kung Food, produced by Yi Animation

Finally, “Watch The Skies” is the first feature from DeZerlin Media, a creative content boutique that generates IP for animated and live-action features and series, games and print. It adopts a Western-style studio model, creating the IP and managing the property, but outsourcing the animation locally.

It is safe to assume the new crop of Chinese animation films will bring better character performance and production values.  Local audience will no longer accept substandard quality. The most compelling questions circulate around story. The risks might suggest studios will err on the side of caution for their debuts.  Will we thus see Hollywood films with Chinese elements – like the Kung Fu Panda franchise – or can a distinctly Chinese tone begin to shine through?  Will a director be afforded the time and trust to realize a vision, as Tian did for “Monkey King” or Liang Xuan and Zhang Chun did for “Big Fish & Begonias”?  This year, we’ll start to have some of those questions answered.

Moving hearts with Operation Smile

P.I.G. CHINA, French production company QUAD and Cheil Beijing created a heart-warming film for Operation Smile, an NGO providing surgical aid to children with cleft lip.  Viewers journey through a polluted Shanghai with a masked albeit joyful little girl.  The final scene reveals she was happy to dawn a pollution mask because this is the one time during which no one can see her cleft lip.  The little heroine’s wide, endearing eyes help to soften the stigmatization children with cleft lip in China endure but the reality of this prescient health issue still remains at the close of the film.

Watch the full film here.

Directed by Henry Mason with support from cinematographer Rain Li, the film was entirely shot in and around Shanghai over two days. Grading and visual effects were created by FIN Design and Effects.  Green United Music (GUM) composed the gentle piano tune in the background.  Beautifully shot, this touching film is helping Operation Smile raise awareness around the stigma of children suffering with cleft lip.