屁哥:任航

Ren

中国艺术家任航于2017年2月24日自杀,时年29岁

中国动画淘金热

中国动画电影票房虽然大有潜力,但是却没有哪个动画公司力压群雄首屈一指。正因如此,业内各大公司已经纷纷涉足动画电影,趁机一展身手。

2015年,《西游记:大圣归来》打破动画电影票房纪录,大获成功,票房高达9.56亿人民币(1.39亿美元),这让很多人看到了动画电影的巨大潜力,跃跃欲试。

40150de413911ab十月动画工作室制作《西游记:大圣归来》

另一方面,梦工厂等动画公司很早就看到了中国市场的巨大潜力,早在2012年,梦工厂携手三家中国投资者,注资3.5亿美元(24亿人民币)打造了东方梦工厂,落户中国,这样就可以省去外国电影进驻中国的繁琐程序。

中国政府大力推动动画产业发展,给予补贴和奖励机制,大力推动中国创意产业的发展,推动中国的软实力,以期最终在世界舞台大放异彩。政府积极促进国际合作,鼓励国内外联手打造电影,新西兰和英国多家公司都纷纷与中国公司展开合作。

Oriental DreamWorks东方梦工厂

与此同时,中国也逐渐开始转型,不甘只做外包公司,而是致力于打造原创内容。很多服务型公司都着手打造原创内容,其中就包括中国顶尖的特效公司Base FX和经验丰富的CG工作室原力,两家公司都曾参与过多部知名动画电影。

一些知名电影公司也纷纷涉足动画电影,2015年10月,光线传媒成立“Color Room”,专注动画和真人电影,投资孵化IP,管控制作。此外,华谊兄弟也成立点睛动画影业,每年要打造四部动画电影。

1东方梦工厂与梦工厂联合制作的首部作品:《功夫熊猫3》

不少公司也都跨界纷纷打入动画领域。互联网巨头腾讯成立了腾讯影业,现已开发制作了21个影视项目。2015年,广东玩具服装剧透奥飞宣布,以9亿人民币(1.41亿美元)收购原创动漫网络平台“有妖气漫画网”,致力于把网站IP打造成电影。

一路荆棘

诚然,中国是动画产业发展的沃土,但是却面临这诸多不确定性。现如今票房补贴远不及2015年,电影销量增长远不如预期那么迅猛,票房也不像之前很多人预测的那样,将在2017年一跃成为全球最大票房基地。而且竞争异常激烈,国产电影你追我赶,同时还要面临来势汹汹的外国电影 – 中国每年都有一定的国外电影份额。

1-20日本动画:《你的名字》

现在,中国还没有哪个人尽皆知的动画电影公司,也没有家喻户晓的动画导演,众所周知的动画形象也是少之又少。大多数情况下,中国公司都是要从头打造动画IP,不断摸索,或者购买图书、游戏、玩具版权,再进一步打造成有吸引力的动画。但是,优秀的动画编剧并不多见,大多数有才的编剧都去写电影了,这是因为电影相对更有市场潜力。

另外,观众的品味也是日新月异,难以揣摩。如果还是认为中国观众没有品位,只愿意看中国神话故事和特效,那就大错特错了。观众和影评人对二流故事总会嗤之以鼻,共产党的喉舌《人民日报》近日发表文章抨击了“恶意满满、不可靠负责”的影评人。

p2217523557有妖气制作《十万个冷笑话》

最近涌现了一系列成功的电影,如《大鱼海棠》、《十万个冷笑话》、日本独立动画《你的名字》,我们希望动画创作者能因此受到鼓舞。

正因为这种不确定性,很多本土动画公司的目标都不仅仅是国内观众。不论是不是首部动画电影,很多公司都表示他们最终的目标是要面向全球市场。

彼岸天文化制作《大鱼海棠》

点睛动画CEO Joe Aguilar表示,中国动画公司要想取得成功,有两点关键因素。首先是中国的“丰富内容”,“中国文化在世界各地更受欢迎,所以中国可以无限打造原创内容,”他说。话虽如此,但是动画电影也好,真人电影也罢,没有任何一部中国电影打入欧美主流市场。原因可能在于东西方讲故事技巧上的根本差异。很多动画公司高管都指出,中国的故事结构太散,西方观众看不懂。

随着越来越多的中国内容进入人们的视野,希望观众的品味可能也会因此改变,但这也不是一朝一夕就能发生。另外,Aguilar提出另外一点在于,电影需要“注重国际化的表现手法,要让全球观众都能接受” – 正因如此,几乎所有想要打入国际市场的动画公司都会在洛杉矶设立内容开发部门,或者是高管都要有过好莱坞工作经验。

动画电影首秀集锦

今年,好几家新涉足动画电影产业的公司都将迎来首部电影。

原力发行的首部动画电影《Duck Duck Goose》就是其中的佼佼者。原力在好莱坞和中国都有着几十年的丰富经验,似乎已经万事俱备,动画电影处女秀势必真材实料。

MV5BOTU4ODYxMjItNWNhZS00ZDIzLWFjMWUtMzQ3MjU1ODY1MDEzXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyMjExMzEyNTM@._V1_原力动画制作《Duck Duck Goose》

Then there is Light Chaser Animation, the Beijing studio founded by Tudou founder and billionaire, Gary Wang. Wang raised eyebrows by assuming writing and directing duties for the studio’s debut feature in 2015, despite having never previously written or directed an animated film. He reprises the role for this year’s follow up, “Tea Pets”.

此外,北京追光动画也值得一提,这家公司是由土豆网创始人亿万富翁王微所创立的。2015年,毫无动画导演和编剧经验的王微亲自操刀追光动画首部动画电影,担任编剧和导演,不免让人大吃一惊。这部电影的角色也将继续延续,今年打造成《阿唐小来的奇幻之旅》。

追光动画制作《阿唐小来的奇幻之旅》

广州易动文化传播有限公司也将发行首部原创动画电影《美食大冒险》,该片的原型是系列动画《包强》,这部3D立体动画讲述的是食物大冒险,由易动与21世纪福克斯强强联手共同打造。在今年所要发行的原创IP电影中,只有《美食大冒险》有一定的粉丝基础。

易动文化制作《美食大冒险》

青岛泽灵文化传媒致力于打造创意内容,创作动画、真人电影视剧、游戏、纸媒IP,今年也将发行首部动画电影《Watch The Skies》。这部片子的制作采用了西方工作室的模式,即自己创作经营IP,制作外包给本地公司。

中国动画电影的蓬勃发展会让我们看到更加逼真的角色表演和制作水准。中国观众不会容忍次品,最关键的还是在于故事方面。能否满足观众的品味尚不可知,所以各个公司的首部动画可能都会谨慎起见。我们是不是会看到有着中国元素的好莱坞电影 – 就如同《功夫熊猫》系列一样,抑或旗帜鲜明的中国旋律会大放异彩?就如同田晓鹏执导《大圣归来》,还有梁旋、张春执导《大鱼海棠》一样,动画导演能否有有足够的时间和信任去实现他们的远大志向呢?今年,想必我们就会找到答案了。

新春快乐!

WechatIMG1

屁哥:春节快乐!

Pigman-CNY_CHN

Pigman-CNY2

皮艾吉新导演:Jonty Toosey

Jonty Toosey在自幼就对动态影像,录画和超八胶片产生了浓厚的兴趣。随后从伦敦的LIFS电影学校毕业后, 开始了他的导演生涯,为BBC,MTV、Discovery Channel和UKTV拍摄宣传片。
除了专业的广告作品外他还为Discovery Channel, National Geographic和France 5制作了一系列的人物纪实片。
在Jonty的广告作品中,他总是努力去创造一种真实的表现状态。他能在偶然发生的、毫无意料和安排、通常受到限制和控制的情况下捕捉画面。

他独特的拍摄风格获得了全球品牌的青睐, 如耐克、福特、宝马, 可口可乐, 立顿, 国泰航空,好时巧克力, 摩森啤酒和摩根船长朗姆酒。

他的作品赢得了众多国际广告奖项包括拍摄耐克+和摩森啤酒获得的戛纳广告节奖。

Jonty现居住于英国伦敦。


屁哥:新年快乐!

ENG

CHN

 

激动人心的2016年

2016年对于皮艾吉来说是激动人心的一年。我们在这一年中直接参与制作了多部国际与国内获奖作品。

我们在2015年参与制作的多芬的《选择美丽》在今年的克里奥广告节上拿下了全场大奖,同时在戛纳创意节上获得银奖与铜奖。在国内金投赏上也收获一座金奖。

全球大热的SK-II《她最终去了相亲角》不仅登上了国际新闻,更是在戛纳斩获了金、银、铜奖和一座玻璃狮子奖杯;在伦敦国际广告奖拿下银奖,金投赏铜奖;这部作品也为导演Floyd Russ在戛纳上将青年导演奖杯收入囊中。

我们的两部宝马作品也在金投赏中有所收获:宝马7《流光溢彩,引领时代》获得金奖,而宝马M系列获得了一座银奖一座铜奖。

宝马7系《流光溢彩,引领时代》
宝马M系列

皮艾吉旗下导演Nelson Cabrera也在今年收获颇丰,他的Saltwater Brewery广告收获了多达20项国际奖项:2座金狮,银狮与铜狮各一座;克里奥上一金两银;D&AD的影响力白铅笔;伦敦国际广告节…等等。

感谢大家在即将过去的2016年中对皮艾吉的支持。我们希望在来年能够为大家带来更多精彩的作品!

新年快乐!

圣诞快乐!

Happy_Holidays_2016_480px

皮艾吉新导演:Tom Schlagkamp

皮艾吉很荣幸能够代理Tom Schlagkamp在中国的拍摄业务。

生活在德国的Tom Schlagkamp以他的突破性影片《The Rock ‘n’ Roll Manifesto》受到瞩目。凭借这部影片他获得了戛纳青年导演的头奖。他作为一个声音和灯光技术人员开始自己的职业生涯。他在德国RTL电台转型专攻影像制作,学会了如何剪辑和动态影像设计,并开始拍摄广告、短片、音乐视频和电影宣传片。Tom接着去了德国巴登-符腾堡电影学院导演科学习,并获得了加州大学洛杉矶分校的奖学金,在该校学习了何谓“好莱坞视点”。Tom带来了一种极具视觉化同时又高度概念化的风格。强烈的意象、娴熟的叙述剪辑和令人兴奋的叙事是他作品的核心。



皮艾吉新导演:弗洛伊德拉斯

今年早些时候,美籍德裔导演弗洛伊德拉斯为SK-II拍摄的“Marriage Market Takeover(她最後去了相親角)”在国际媒体与民间引起了热烈讨论。影片在优酷上最初发布的二十四小时之内就有超过100万人观看,并斩获众多奖项包括戛纳的金狮、铜狮和创意玻璃狮。皮艾吉很荣幸能够代理弗洛伊德在中国的拍摄业务。

弗洛伊德12岁在洛杉矶长大时发现了对电影的热爱。还在读高中的他制作的第一部电影,获得最佳学生电影和最佳新声在好莱坞国际电影节。加州大学洛杉矶分校毕业后,他搬到了纽约,开始了他的影视生涯。

弗洛伊德的作品曾出现在CNN,福克斯新闻,NBC, MSNBC, the Today Show, Time,赫芬顿邮报和纽约杂志。2014年戛纳,他的影片“Unload your 401k”荣获钛狮和银狮奖及其他奖项。

弗洛伊德也是一个狂热的足球、篮球和橄榄球迷,享受去各种偏远的地区旅行。

PIGMAN: Ren Hang

123-01

Ren

Chinese artist Ren Hang committed suicide on Feb 24th, at the age of 29

The Chinese Animation Gold Rush

maxresdefault

With a huge potential box office rewards and no established domestic studio brands dominating the playing field, the enormous opportunity for creators of animated movies has seen a collective mobilization across the media ecosystem towards the genre.

For some, the catalyst was the enormous success of 2015’s “Monkey King: Hero Returns”, which earned 956 million yuan ($139m) at the box office and shattered the previous record for a full CG animation.

40150de413911abMonkey King: Hero Returns, produced by October Annimation Studio

Others, like DreamWorks, saw the market potential years ago.  In 2012 the company struck a $350m (2.4bn yuan) joint venture deal with three Chinese investment companies to form a studio on the ground in China, Oriental DreamWorks, which could circumvent the foreign film quota.

The government has played its part, offering grants and incentives for companies to make animation, eager to promote China’s creative evolution and production of soft power products that it can ultimately wield on the world stage.  That initiative has included facilitating international coproduction treaties, enabling substantial moviemaking partnerships, like those between China and companies in New Zealand and the UK.

Oriental DreamWorksOriental DreamWorks

Meanwhile, as China transitions from outsourcing destination to original creator, former service companies are turning to original content creation, like China’s leading visual effects provider, Base FX, and veteran CG studio Original Force, both of whom have major animated features in the works.

Established live action studios are getting in on the act too.  In October 2015, Beijing Enlight Media formed ‘Color Room’, an animation and live action division, to invest, incubate IP, and manage productions, while Huayi Brothers has also established an animation arm, Wink, to develop four animation features every year.

1Kung Fu Panda 3, co-produced by Oriental DreamWorks and DreamWorks

Companies with interests across multiple industries are adding animation to their portfolios.  Internet behemoth Tencent created film production arm, Tencent Pictures, which is developing and producing a diverse slate of 21 film and TV projects, while in 2015, Alpha, a giant Guangdong toy and clothing conglomerate, announced a 900 million yuan ($141 million) acquisition of original internet comic platform U17.com, with a view to converting the IP into movies.

Tough Terrain

The ground in China may be fertile, but the climate is uncertain. Fewer tickets are being subsidised than they were in 2015, sales are growing more slowly than expected and the Chinese box office won’t, as many had predicted, become the world’s largest in 2017.  Moreover, competition is fierce. The growing number of new Chinese films will compete with each other and a relentless onslaught of offerings from the established global big guns that make it in to China as part of the import quota.

1-20Japanese Animation: Your Name

There is no established Chinese animated entertainment brand, no household name animation directors or studios and very few known properties. In most cases, Chinese studios must develop IP from scratch, guessing what will work, or buy the rights to book, game or toy properties with an existing following and try to convert them in to compelling motion pictures. However, good animation writers are hard to come by, with the best talent historically drawn to the relatively better prospects in live action.

Moreover, the tastes of the rapidly morphing audience are as unpredictable as ever. The lazy assumption about unsophisticated masses that eat up Chinese mythology and spectacular visual effects is outdated. Audiences and reviewers are fiercely critical of sub par stories, recently prompting Party mouthpiece People’s Daily to publish an editorial piece slamming ‘vicious and irresponsible’ critics.

p2217523557One Hundred Thousand Bad Jokes, produced by YouYaoQi

The hope is that creators will be emboldened by the successes of ‘alternative’ films like the auteur driven “Big Fish & Begonia”, adult fare like “100,000 Bad Jokes” and Japanese indie efforts like “Your Name”, all of which demonstrate that there is a significant market for edgier content.

The unpredictability may partly explain why Chinese animation studios aren’t placing all their bets on the domestic audience. Whether for their first film release or a later offering, almost all studios say the eventual target is the global market.

Big Fish & Begonia, produced by Biantian Media

Joe Aguilar, CEO at Wink, says that for an animation studio in China to succeed, there are two key considerations.  The first is China’s ‘content wealth.’  “Chinese culture is more popular in the global market, and can produce infinite original stories with Chinese elements,” he says.  That may be true, but no Chinese film, animated or otherwise, has yet cracked the major US or European markets. One explanation may be a fundamental difference in storytelling sensibility between the East and the West.  Many senior studio executives have pointed to a looser Chinese story structure that is inaccessible to the West.

Western tastes might evolve with greater exposure to Chinese content, but that process will take years. In the meantime, Aguilar’s second point – that movies need to “emphasize international ways of expression, which make the movies globally more acceptable”- is the reason almost all studios with serious designs on the global market have established development studios in L.A. and/or installed Hollywood experience in executive positions.

The First Batch

This year will see the first serious runners among the multiple newcomers to the Chinese animated features race.

“Duck Duck Goose”, the first release from Original Force, is the pick of the bunch.  Led by a triumvirate boasting decades of experience in both Hollywood and China, the studio has seemingly all the right elements to create something of real quality for its debut feature.

MV5BOTU4ODYxMjItNWNhZS00ZDIzLWFjMWUtMzQ3MjU1ODY1MDEzXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyMjExMzEyNTM@._V1_Duck Duck Goose, produced by Original Force

Then there is Light Chaser Animation, the Beijing studio founded by Tudou founder and billionaire, Gary Wang.  Wang raised eyebrows by assuming writing and directing duties for the studio’s debut feature in 2015, despite having never previously written or directed an animated film.  He reprises the role for this year’s follow up, “Tea Pets”.

Tea Pets, produced by Light Chaser Animation

Guangzhou’s Yi Animation will release its first original movie, “Kung Food”, the feature film adaptation of the studio’s TV series, “Super Bao”, a stereoscopic 3D movie about living pieces of food uniting to prevent bland flavours from conquering the world. Coproduced by 21st Century Fox, the “Kung Food” is the only IP among this year’s contenders to have any existing fan base in China.

Kung Food, produced by Yi Animation

Finally, “Watch The Skies” is the first feature from DeZerlin Media, a creative content boutique that generates IP for animated and live-action features and series, games and print. It adopts a Western-style studio model, creating the IP and managing the property, but outsourcing the animation locally.

It is safe to assume the new crop of Chinese animation films will bring better character performance and production values.  Local audience will no longer accept substandard quality. The most compelling questions circulate around story. The risks might suggest studios will err on the side of caution for their debuts.  Will we thus see Hollywood films with Chinese elements – like the Kung Fu Panda franchise – or can a distinctly Chinese tone begin to shine through?  Will a director be afforded the time and trust to realize a vision, as Tian did for “Monkey King” or Liang Xuan and Zhang Chun did for “Big Fish & Begonias”?  This year, we’ll start to have some of those questions answered.

Happy Chinese New Year!

WechatIMG1的副本

WechatIMG1

PIGMAN: Chinese New Year

123-01

Pigman-CNY2

Pigman-CNY_CHN

 

P.I.G China New Director: Jonty Toosey

jonty_toosey_Coke_Zero_Add_a_Zero

P.I.G. is very excited to now be representing Jonty Toosey in China.

From a very young age, Jonty has had a fascination for the moving image, experimenting with video and super 8 film in his. Following film school at LIFS in London, he began his directing career in television making promos for BBC, MTV, Discovery Channel and UKTV. Alongside his professional work in advertising he has directed several portrait documentary series for Discovery Channel, National Geographic and France 5.

In his advertising work, Jonty is always striving to create situations that come across as extremely honest and authentic. He extracts scenes within often restrictive and controlled situations that come across completely spontaneous and unrehearsed. His particular style has led him to work with global brands such as Nike, Ford, Mini Cooper, Coca Cola, Lipton Ice tea, Cathay Pacific, Hershey’s Chocolate, Molson Canadian, and Captain Morgan Rum. His campaigns have won him numerous international advertising awards including Cannes Lions for his Nike + and Molson Beer campaigns.

Jonty lives in London.


PIGMAN: Happy New Year!

Stampa

CHN

ENG

 

What a year!

WechatIMG4

2016 was a great year for PIG China. We were directly involved in films which garnered over a dozen major awards at festivals worldwide!

The 2015 Dove spot “Chose Beautiful” we locally produced won a Grand Clio at Clio Awards. The spot also won silver and bronze Cannes Lions, and a gold at ROI.

The widely spread and discussed SK-II “Leftover Women” not only made its way to international news headlines, but also garnered Glass, Gold, Silver and Bronze Cannes Lions; a Silver at London International Awards; a Bronze at ROI; and landed Floyd Russ a Silver Young Director Awards in Cannes.

Then our 2 BMW spot landed awards at ROI: BMW7 Visionary Lights for the 7 Series with a Gold Award, and BMW M Series with Silver and Bronze Awards.

BMW 7 Visionary Lights
BMW M Series

And finally, P.I.G. director Nelson Cabrera finished the year with over 20 major international awards for his work on the Saltwater Brewery campaign, including 2 Golds, a silver and a Bronze Cannes Lions; a Gold and 2 Silver Clios; D&AD Impact White Pencil; LIA awards, etc…

INSERT SALTWATER BREWERY FILM (I will ask Nelson for it)

Thank you all for supporting PIG China in 2016, and here’s hoping 2017 will be an even better year!

Happy New Year!

Merry Christmas!

Happy_Holidays_2016_480px

Happy_Holidays_2016_480px

P.I.G China New Director: Tom Schlagkamp

Tom_Schlagkamp_100Pipers_remember_the_true_legend_DC57s

P.I.G. is very excited to now be representing Tom Schlagkamp in China.

Known for his breakthrough film “The Rock ‘n’ Roll Manifesto” which won first place at the Cannes Young Director Awards, Berlin-based Tom Schlagkamp started out as a sound and light technician. He transitioned into film at RTL Germany, where he learned editing and motion graphics, and began shooting commercials, shorts, music videos, and movie promos. He went on to study directing at the Filmakademie Baden-Wuerttemberg, and a scholarship brought him to UCLA to learn about “The Hollywood Perspective”. Tom brings a style that is both strikingly visual and highly conceptual. His work is driven by intense imagery, strong narrative editing and thrilling storytelling.



P.I.G China New Director: Floyd Russ

Brooklyn forgive me

Earlier this year, German-American filmmaker Floyd Russ’s controversial film for SK-II “Marriage Market Takeover” generated international buzz and received over 1 million views on Youku within 24 hours of its initial release and has garnered numerous awards including Gold, Bronze and Glass Cannes Lions. P.I.G. is very excited to now be representing Floyd in China.

Floyd discovered his love for filmmaking at age of 12 while growing up in Los Angeles. His first film, produced while still in high school, won Best Student Film and Best New Voice at the Hollywood International Film Festival. After graduating from UCLA, he moved to New York and began his focus on advertising.

Floyd’s work has been featured on CNN, FOX News, NBC, MSNBC, the Today Show, Time, Huffington Post and New York Magazine. In 2014, his spot “Unload your 401k” won Titanium and Silver Lions at the Cannes Lions Festival, among many other awards.

Floyd is also an avid soccer, basketball, and football fan, and enjoys traveling to remote places where electricity is unreliable.