PIG的混乱总监Nick告诉LBB,“振作起来,一切很快就会好转的”

本月,PIG的首席混乱总监(和MD)Nick Dodet与LBB的Natasha Patel谈到了新型冠状病毒对影视行业的影响。他认为,西方可以从中国的反应中学到不少 举措 ,并分享该团队在所有新限制条件下的创新工作方式。

随着新冠病毒席卷西方世界,注意力转向了欧美,中国正在开始重新启动,并已经解除了大部分生活与商业限制。影视拍摄行业也正慢慢在一个新的市场“常态”中寻找自己的角色。Nick与LBB分享了他对形势的第一手看法。

以下是访谈的节选段。

中国的影片制作现状如何?

现在逐步恢复正常。在3月初,有一小部分团队回复拍摄;从月中开始环境慢慢的热闹起来。在过去的一周里,拍摄越来越多了。相对来说当时的确有很多的拍摄限制。虽然3月的时候我们仍然可以申请到公共场所拍摄许可,但如果有任何当地居民感觉到一毫的不安全,他们可以报警,使许可证立即作废,并彻底的终止所有的拍摄工作。和3月份相比,现在情况好多了,我们几乎可以在任何地方拍摄了。

有没有遇到什么有趣的方法来应付这些限制?

我们开发了远程拍摄业务。对于在中国的客户和广告代理而言,拍摄团队可以在世界任何地方进行拍片工作,比如南非;所有镜头将被直播到他们的面前。

现在,情况转变了180°。目前,即使持有中国签证的外国人,也不允许进入中国。我们已经与国外无法拍摄的广告公司、制片公司和品牌客户确认了在中国远程拍摄的方案。最近我们收到了很多这样的请求。

其他国家的公司能从中国应对新型冠状病毒的经验中学到什么,能想出其他的办法摆脱困境吗?

如果没有业务,那就没有收入,但任然要熬过这次的疫情,所以必须尽量减少公司的成本结构。振作起来,一切都会好转的。 在最严重的期间,全国各地的居民都闭门不出,一个又一个鬼城。但我们之所以能在如此短暂的时间内迅速地攻克这次疫情,靠的是每个人的努力,大家在公共场合都戴着口罩,政府也关闭了所有公共交通。

在这期间,我们都有机会体验新技术,找新的角度。我听说很多外国客户正在尝作自制电影,为此,请求他们的经纪公司提供自拍的创艺方案。从长远来看,这可能不太可行。我们现在提供给国外客户的是他们在国外远程导演、我们在中国经行拍摄的服务。在西方,他们也会想出新的日常运行方式;我认为这次疫情过后,会留下很多长久的远程拍摄格式。

阅读完整的访谈(英语,外部链接)。

超酷派对:著名设计师Francis Lam的采访片段 (别名db-db)

上周看到这个‘超酷派对’的首发,一个由Francis Lam 设计的iOS app, 这个软件很快在上海的创意界里掀起了一股潮流。它是一个时尚有趣的像素游戏,然后夹杂着db-db的商标设计Tofu Go和Nudemen – 一个有趣的8位游戏,轻盈的音乐以及简单的游戏界面(在这里是需要扒光主角的衣服,为他们找对象)。在将来,这个游戏可能会有时尚品牌冠名并发展更多的内容。为了让POV能有更多的创意内容,Francis同意让我们采访他.

POV的采访:FRANCIS LAM, 别名 DB-DB

问: 简而言之,你是如何形容‘超酷派对’的 ?购物与时尚的联系又在哪里呢?
答: 这是一个以时尚为主题的8位游戏附带了社交数码照相功能。但我主要想要去尝试是为广告和手机游戏创建一个新的平台。游戏内的广告永远是玩游戏的人最讨厌的东西,我想要去创造一个能够试开发商与玩的人都获益的东西。

问: 什么给了你灵感来制作这个游戏?尤其对于这样一个视觉形象,音乐以及沙滩派对的感念。
答: 好玩,有趣以及8位游戏永远是我作品的主流。同样这个游戏也和我们Nudemen系列有联系。

问: 这是你自Tofu Go后的第一个软件开发 – 你在那个软件后学到了什么,以及哪些新的设计技巧,编程,市场规划以及发行渠道你在此次超酷派对上会体现?
答: 我认为我的其他的移动软件以及游戏都是我的一些工作的试验和衍生品。大多数作品在一周内就完成了。超酷派对却是有详细规划过并精心制作的一个项目,它主要表达的是一个不同的数码社交通道。然后它也是第一个由我的新公司db+db发行的产品。

问: 当你离开了W+K自己创业的时候,你提到了你在追求一个非常有趣的尝试,当中会涉及到各种的新的关于快速重复制作的项目,你可以描述一下这些你在开发的新项目的架构吗?
答: 当然。db+DB是一个很小的团队,目标是制作小型的快速重复数码产品。我们对我们的产品有3个要求:1.产品必须在2-3个月内发行。2. 产品必须是在商业用途上可行的。3. 产品需要有潜力改变世界或者使我们生活更美好。

问: 你觉得将来的移动广告会变成怎养,并且为什么你觉得游戏在这个空间里很重要?很多人谈到了在品牌投放上微信将代替微博-你是如何觉得超酷派对将引领一个新潮流?
答: 我觉得数码游戏社团还是一个很大的市场去投放广告。超酷派对将作为一个试验型项目来回答所有的问题。

问: 现在什么最能激发你的灵感?
答: 眼下,绝对是我刚出生的女儿

下载超酷派对 这里 !

PIG’s chief of chaos sits down with LBB to talk quarantine, Covid-19, remote production and life under a new “normal”

This month, PIG Chief Chaos Officer (and MD) Nick Dodet spoke with LBB’s Natasha Patel about Covid-19 and the production industry. He believes the West can learn quite a few things from China’s response, and shares innovative ways the team has found to work within all the new restrictions.

As the western world grapples with the pandemic, China has lifted most sanctions, and the Chinese production scene is slowly finding its place in a new “normal”. Nick shares his views on the whole situation with LBB.

Excerpts from the interview below.

What’s the current situation in China with production?

Production is kind of coming back to normal right now. In the past week there’ve been a lot of shoots after we saw a few in early March, then some more mid-month. There were a lot of restrictions but fewer and fewer now compared to in March when we could apply and get a permit to shoot in a public location, but if any of the local residents felt unsafe , they would call the cops and shut us down. No questions asked. Now it’s mostly getting better and we can pretty much shoot from anywhere.

Did you come across any interesting ways to get around the restrictions?

We started developing more remote shooting where clients and agencies would remain in China and a crew would shoot in, let’s say, South Africa and everything would be watched live back over here.

Now it’s been completely flipped around in that foreigners are not allowed to enter China at the moment – even if they possess a green card. At the moment we’ve got jobs confirmed with foreign agencies, production companies and clients who they can’t shoot where they are, so they will shoot in China remotely. We’re getting more of these requests, which are basically in a living room in the West and on the set here in China.

What can companies around the world learn from China’s experience of Covid-19 and coming out the other end of it?

You’ve got to make yourself small, if you’re not working you have no revenue so you have to weather the storm. Just keep your chin up because eventually things get better. What allowed us to get out of that first wave so quickly is that it literally came down with a hammer and everybody was wearing masks in public and shutting down public transportation. It was literally ghost town all over the country.

You always have opportunities in these times and the opportunity to test new technology and find new angles. I hear a lot of foreign clients are trying to produce homemade films where they’re asking the agencies to find ways for people to take selfies. Long term that’s probably not that viable. What we offer foreign clients right now is to shoot films over here for them and they direct from abroad. In the West they’ll come up with new ways of running sets, I think there’ll be quite a bit of remote work that’ll happen way past the pandemic.

To read the full interview, click here (external link).

Super Cool Party: Interview with Designer Francis Lam (aka db-db)

SuperCool1

Last week saw the launch of “Super Cool Party”, a new iOS app from Francis Lam (aka db-db), which has quickly taken over the Instagram and WeChat moments feeds of Shanghai creatives. It’s a “super pixelicious fashion simulation game” with db-db’s trademark style seen in Tofu Go and Nudemen – a combination of funky 8bit graphics, catchy tunes, and cheeky gameplay (which here involves “undressing” characters to unlock their clothing for fun mix-and-match). In the future, it may feature packs of branded fashion content and beyond. Francis’ expansive practice also encompasses his long-time work as Creative Technologist at Wieden+Kennedy Shanghai, and founder of hand-crafted wooden furniture brand OWW. To kick off POV’s new interview series with diverse creatives, Francis graciously agreed to answer our questions.

POV INTERVIEW: FRANCIS LAM, AKA DB-DB

Q: In a nutshell, how would you describe “Super Cool Party”? What’s its connection to shopping and fashion?

A: It’s a fashion-themed 8-bit casual game + social camera app. But what I also want to experiment is to create a new platform for advertising and mobile gaming. In-game advertising has always been a big turn-off for gamers, I really want to build something that can make both marketers and gamers happy.

Q: What inspired the game, especially its visual style, music, and beach setting/”party” concept?

A: Happy, fun and 8bit are always the main themes and styles of my work. It also vaguely linked to my Nudemen Series by the way.


User images from Instagram – add your own with the #supercoolparty and #supercoolstyle tags!

Q: This is your first app since Tofu Go – what have you learned since then, and what different techniques of design, programming, marketing, and distribution were you looking to try in Super Cool Party?

A: I think all my other mobile apps and games are experiments or extensions of my other work. Most of them were finished in a weekend or so. Super Cool Party is a more well-thought and produced project which leverages different digital and social channels. It’s also the first product launched by my new entity db+DB.

dcf880d2569111e3a9810ebdd4ba5cf5_6
Instagram from @bbfish

Q: Since you left Wieden+Kennedy to work on independent projects, you mentioned that you’re pursuing an interesting workflow of experimenting with various new projects on quick-iteration time-schedule. Can you describe this new project structure you’re exploring?

A: Sure. db+DB is a small team aiming for making tiny digitally-driven products in fast iterations. We have three criteria for our products: 1. It has to be launched in less than 2-3 months. 2. It has to be commercially viable. 3. It has to have a big idea which potentially change the world and make our lives better – maybe for just a little bit.

Q: What do you think is the future of mobile advertising, and how do you think games are important in this space? Many people have talked about the death of Weibo and the rise of Weixin as a space for brands – how are you hoping that an app/game like Super Cool Party can pioneer new directions on those platforms?

A: I think games are one of the biggest digital communities yet to have a working advertising ecosystem. Super Cool Party is an experimental project to try answer the issue.

Q: What inspires you the most right now?

A: Currently, definitely my newborn daughter.

Download Super Cool Party here and check it out!