皮艾吉试映会:在Grumpy Pig观看虎胆龙威

12月10日,P.I.G将与他的伙伴们在The Grumpy Pig开展它的系列放映会,有什么会比好莱坞经典电影“虎胆雄威”(1988)更加好的呢?我们将在放映电影的同时奉上虎胆雄威餐-赶快预订,不容错过!

 

The Grumpy Pig x P.I.G. 中国
“电影 & 食物”: 圣诞专辑
周二, 12月10日, 2013, 8pm @ The Grumpy Pig, Shanghai
位置有限. 预订: 6217-3355

 

GrumpyGrub1

 

你已经忘记了虎胆雄威是一部多么棒的圣诞电影了么?赶紧回顾一下预告片,重拾记忆吧。

 

超酷派对:著名设计师Francis Lam的采访片段 (别名db-db)

上周看到这个‘超酷派对’的首发,一个由Francis Lam 设计的iOS app, 这个软件很快在上海的创意界里掀起了一股潮流。它是一个时尚有趣的像素游戏,然后夹杂着db-db的商标设计Tofu Go和Nudemen – 一个有趣的8位游戏,轻盈的音乐以及简单的游戏界面(在这里是需要扒光主角的衣服,为他们找对象)。在将来,这个游戏可能会有时尚品牌冠名并发展更多的内容。为了让POV能有更多的创意内容,Francis同意让我们采访他.

POV的采访:FRANCIS LAM, 别名 DB-DB

问: 简而言之,你是如何形容‘超酷派对’的 ?购物与时尚的联系又在哪里呢?
答: 这是一个以时尚为主题的8位游戏附带了社交数码照相功能。但我主要想要去尝试是为广告和手机游戏创建一个新的平台。游戏内的广告永远是玩游戏的人最讨厌的东西,我想要去创造一个能够试开发商与玩的人都获益的东西。

问: 什么给了你灵感来制作这个游戏?尤其对于这样一个视觉形象,音乐以及沙滩派对的感念。
答: 好玩,有趣以及8位游戏永远是我作品的主流。同样这个游戏也和我们Nudemen系列有联系。

问: 这是你自Tofu Go后的第一个软件开发 – 你在那个软件后学到了什么,以及哪些新的设计技巧,编程,市场规划以及发行渠道你在此次超酷派对上会体现?
答: 我认为我的其他的移动软件以及游戏都是我的一些工作的试验和衍生品。大多数作品在一周内就完成了。超酷派对却是有详细规划过并精心制作的一个项目,它主要表达的是一个不同的数码社交通道。然后它也是第一个由我的新公司db+db发行的产品。

问: 当你离开了W+K自己创业的时候,你提到了你在追求一个非常有趣的尝试,当中会涉及到各种的新的关于快速重复制作的项目,你可以描述一下这些你在开发的新项目的架构吗?
答: 当然。db+DB是一个很小的团队,目标是制作小型的快速重复数码产品。我们对我们的产品有3个要求:1.产品必须在2-3个月内发行。2. 产品必须是在商业用途上可行的。3. 产品需要有潜力改变世界或者使我们生活更美好。

问: 你觉得将来的移动广告会变成怎养,并且为什么你觉得游戏在这个空间里很重要?很多人谈到了在品牌投放上微信将代替微博-你是如何觉得超酷派对将引领一个新潮流?
答: 我觉得数码游戏社团还是一个很大的市场去投放广告。超酷派对将作为一个试验型项目来回答所有的问题。

问: 现在什么最能激发你的灵感?
答: 眼下,绝对是我刚出生的女儿

下载超酷派对 这里 !

我们爱影院

最近由皮艾吉为巴黎银行在上海协作拍摄的一部作品, 导演Olivier Megaton, 在法国电影院上播放了,

在上海的似水流年 – 新纪录片

本周的上海纪录片节“Hot Docs”的首映是’ 在上海的似水流年’, 一个新纪录片关于上海自己的和平饭店乐队- 世界上年龄最大的爵士乐队. 导演是Uli Gaulke, 影片围绕着魅力十足的老上海乐手而展开.

影片介绍film’s description:
这个世界上最老的乐队已在上海的和平饭店表演了超过30年. 大多数乐手都是年过80的一级的爵士音乐家.

在上海的似水流纪录了世界上最老的乐队的最美妙的经历: 他们在北海爵士音乐节 – 爵士乐节中最重要的一个节日上亮相.

在他们亮相的最后几周, 这个音乐电影将会呈现一个错综复杂的世界. 爵士乐是即兴, 个性, 自由以及创作的代名词. 以爵士乐的赞歌为背景, 此片讲述了这7位特殊的音乐家的一生迷人的故事: 从日本侵占上海到文化大革命延续至当今蓬勃发展的计划经济. 充斥着幽默, 智慧以及一到两个穿插在中间的故事, 穿黑西装的男人将带我们走近他们在这个摩登城市中的生活, 为我们展示老爵士乐是如何带给他们生活的信心与勇气.

在 Youtube上有预告片或按这里, and a Tumblr with great behind-the-scenes photos.

皇后的盛宴’ - 不穿衣服的上海酒店

QueensFeast2Crop

近期,上海的桔子水晶酒店 发布了一个最新的宣传短片名叫‘皇后的盛宴’, 并勇敢的把自己酒店‘裸露’的展示了出来。

一帮肌肉男到达酒店,登记入住他们的豪华现代的房间,为的就是很快脱光并站在房间落地窗前。霎那间,窗帘拉开-结果这就变成了努力工作的上海女性下班后走在回家路上的福利。是的,这就是牛排蛋糕盛宴,为所有我们城市的‘女王们’ (女性以及其它).

看一下这次有趣的活动- 在一个广告产业过于饱和的城市里伴随着太多穿着稀薄的女人 (和女生), 很少可以看到这些养眼的光着身子的男人演出. 尽情享受这些眼睛糖果吧!

观看视屏 在优酷.

更多信息 这里.

P.I.G. Screening Series: Die Hard at the Grumpy Pig

On December 10, P.I.G. launches its Shanghai screening series with a special collaboration with our friends at The Grumpy Pig. And what better way to ring in the season than with a Hollywood holiday classic: “Die Hard” (1988). We’ll be screening the film and serving a special, Die Hard-themed menu – reserve now to make sure you don’t miss it!

The Grumpy Pig x P.I.G. China
“Movie & Grub”: Christmas Edition
Tuesday, December 10, 2013, 8pm @ The Grumpy Pig, Shanghai
Space Limited. Reservations: 6217-3355

GrumpyGrub1

Did you forget that “Die Hard” is an amazing Christmas movie? Watch the trailer again to refresh your memory…

Super Cool Party: Interview with Designer Francis Lam (aka db-db)

SuperCool1

Last week saw the launch of “Super Cool Party”, a new iOS app from Francis Lam (aka db-db), which has quickly taken over the Instagram and WeChat moments feeds of Shanghai creatives. It’s a “super pixelicious fashion simulation game” with db-db’s trademark style seen in Tofu Go and Nudemen – a combination of funky 8bit graphics, catchy tunes, and cheeky gameplay (which here involves “undressing” characters to unlock their clothing for fun mix-and-match). In the future, it may feature packs of branded fashion content and beyond. Francis’ expansive practice also encompasses his long-time work as Creative Technologist at Wieden+Kennedy Shanghai, and founder of hand-crafted wooden furniture brand OWW. To kick off POV’s new interview series with diverse creatives, Francis graciously agreed to answer our questions.

POV INTERVIEW: FRANCIS LAM, AKA DB-DB

Q: In a nutshell, how would you describe “Super Cool Party”? What’s its connection to shopping and fashion?

A: It’s a fashion-themed 8-bit casual game + social camera app. But what I also want to experiment is to create a new platform for advertising and mobile gaming. In-game advertising has always been a big turn-off for gamers, I really want to build something that can make both marketers and gamers happy.

Q: What inspired the game, especially its visual style, music, and beach setting/”party” concept?

A: Happy, fun and 8bit are always the main themes and styles of my work. It also vaguely linked to my Nudemen Series by the way.


User images from Instagram – add your own with the #supercoolparty and #supercoolstyle tags!

Q: This is your first app since Tofu Go – what have you learned since then, and what different techniques of design, programming, marketing, and distribution were you looking to try in Super Cool Party?

A: I think all my other mobile apps and games are experiments or extensions of my other work. Most of them were finished in a weekend or so. Super Cool Party is a more well-thought and produced project which leverages different digital and social channels. It’s also the first product launched by my new entity db+DB.

dcf880d2569111e3a9810ebdd4ba5cf5_6
Instagram from @bbfish

Q: Since you left Wieden+Kennedy to work on independent projects, you mentioned that you’re pursuing an interesting workflow of experimenting with various new projects on quick-iteration time-schedule. Can you describe this new project structure you’re exploring?

A: Sure. db+DB is a small team aiming for making tiny digitally-driven products in fast iterations. We have three criteria for our products: 1. It has to be launched in less than 2-3 months. 2. It has to be commercially viable. 3. It has to have a big idea which potentially change the world and make our lives better – maybe for just a little bit.

Q: What do you think is the future of mobile advertising, and how do you think games are important in this space? Many people have talked about the death of Weibo and the rise of Weixin as a space for brands – how are you hoping that an app/game like Super Cool Party can pioneer new directions on those platforms?

A: I think games are one of the biggest digital communities yet to have a working advertising ecosystem. Super Cool Party is an experimental project to try answer the issue.

Q: What inspires you the most right now?

A: Currently, definitely my newborn daughter.

Download Super Cool Party here and check it out!

We love cinema

Now in theatres across France, the latest from director Olivier Megaton. A PIG China co-production.

As Time Goes By in Shanghai – New Documentary

Premiering this week at “Hot Docs” is “As Time Goes By in Shanghai”, a new documentary on Shanghai’s own Peace Hotel band – the oldest jazz band in the world. Directed by Uli Gaulke, the film looks like a charming portrait of some old guys who still have a trick or two up their sleeves.

From the film’s description:
The oldest band of the world has been playing every evening at the Peace Hotel in Shanghai for more than thirty years. Most members of the band, all Jazz musicians of the first rank, are older than 80 years.

AS TIME GOES BY IN SHANGHAI accompanies the oldest band in the world on their greatest adventure yet: their appearance at the North Sea Jazz Festival Rotterdam, the most important festival of its kind.

In the final weeks before their appearance, this musical film will immerse itself in a world of unparalleled change. Jazz stands for improvisation, individualism, freedom and creativity. Against the backdrop of great jazz hymns, the film will chart the fascinating life stories of these seven exceptional musicians: from the Japanese occupation to the Cultural Revolution right up to today’s turbo planned economy. With humour, wisdom and a tale or two being spun on the way, the men in black suits will lead us on a tour of their everyday lives in one of the world’s most modern cities and show us how good old jazz has given them the strength to weather the storms of time.

Check out the trailer on Youtube or below, and a Tumblr with great behind-the-scenes photos.

“The Queen’s Feast” – Shanghai Hotel In the Buff

Recently, Shanghai’s Crystal Orange Hotel released a new promotional video entitled “The Queen’s Feast”, which dares to show their hotel “in the buff”.

A troupe of muscular men arrives at the hotel, checking into their sleek, modernist rooms, only to quickly strip down and position themselves at the windows. Suddenly the curtains are pulled back – and the result is a treat for all the hard-working Shanghai ladies who may have been walking home from the office that night. That’s right, it’s a beefcake feast, for all the “Queens” of our city (female and otherwise).

Take a “peek” at this fun campaign – in an advertising landscape that is oversaturated with scantily-clad women (and girls), it’s a nice change of pace to have some buff dudes on display. Enjoy the eye candy, ladies!

Watch on Youku.

More information and credits here.