2017年中国VR产业立足几何?

Geiger-profile

中国VR产业频频登上头条,惹人关注,彭博社预估到2020年中国VR产业将达到85亿美元,这一数字广泛被人引用,而另一方面,中国也是首个把VR当做赚钱之道的国家。一些调查显示,中国消费者愿意每月掏出15美元观看好的内容。可问题在于现在好的内容相当缺乏,但这也恰恰是商机所在。

Kevin Geiger来到中国想要助力内容发展。他之前在迪士尼做CG,2008年来到北京参与项目制作和教学,后又担任迪士尼中国副总裁兼创意总监。一年多前,他创立了国际动画与虚拟现实研究中心(iAVRrc),该中心背后的力量是著名学府北京电影学院,该中心专门打造VR和AR内容。除此之外,他还成立了魔力饺子 – 一家从事内容制作的公司,他也是LinkedIn的活跃用户,还在AWN(世界动漫网)写博文,也有自己的网络期刊,这个来自俄亥俄州的美国人,现在已经成为中国动画和VR领域卓有力量的西方声音。

2016年底,Geiger跟我们一起分享了他对中国VR行业发展的看法。

image1

PIG:就传统媒体来说,中国一般都比其他国家要落后,但似乎说道VR,情况就不同了,你怎么看?

Kevin Geiger:在很多VR领域,中国都很超前。就发展势头来看,中国可谓当仁不让。再看现在软硬件的开发规模,中国也是首屈一指。但是,说道中国开发的软硬件水平,我觉得并不能说最好。中国也是紧紧追赶,但是照其他地方还是落后一步。中国的VR体验馆要比美国多多了。虽然好坏难说,但是确实无处不在。而且就VR内容开发来说,中国没有像其他地方一样有那么多人在做,水平上也比不了。西方的VR内容创业公司都在招募皮克斯、索尼、迪士尼、梦工厂的人才,但是中国没有这样的深度,而且内容投资已经很疲软,大家都想先看看别人是怎么做的,不会自己先一头扎进去。坦白讲中国也有很多局限,VR游戏内容的开发,也有一些法律法规限制,审批就要等上一到四个月。但想一下,一个创业公司等着游戏上线回本,根本就等不起。而且内容本身也要经过千锤百炼。政府审查让整个创意开发和制作的整体生态都不寒而栗,不仅仅是服务方面或者整个行业,最终整个文化环境都受到影响。

image2iAVRrc项目Story Forest

PIG:为什么内容投资要比硬件投资少呢?

KG:投资者都知道内容很重要。但是有这个心却没这个胆,都想保险起见,投资软硬件要比投资IP内容有把握多了 – 但是我觉得这是不对的。投了钱没有收益,大可以卖掉软硬件,起码还可以收回一些成本,但是如果是IP的话就不行了。昨天我参加了一个活动,投资者都说对内容投资要保持清醒的头脑,“我们不再做内容投资,主要投资硬件,然后希望内容开发可以使用我们的硬件。”听到有人这么直白地把这话说出来,我还真有点吃惊,当然这可能是因为我本是是做内容的缘故。我觉得这就像一种回归分析法,但我尊重别人的看法。

image3iAVRrc项目Hutong Hunt

PIG:你觉得这个人的说法是中国VR产业普遍的态度吗?

KG:但愿不是。一般投资者都是先觉得自己对什么都很了解,后来又觉得对什么都不够了解,先是很大胆,慢慢又想规避风险。中国有太多人都在参与VR生态格局,所以即使有两百人说不想投资内容,肯定还有另外一千人愿意投资。所以我觉得上面所说的这种态度其实并不是普遍存在的,HTC Vive中国区总裁Alvin Wang说他觉得内容投资不会冷却。在他看来,虽然投资者疑虑重重,他看到人们对整个产业链热情高涨:从软硬件再到内容发行方方面面。

PIG:有哪个中国创作的VR体验让你印象特别深刻?

KG:北京诺亦腾公司发布的Project Alice让我印象很深 – 这是一款混合现实体验产品,我手拿着一个酒吧凳,能感觉得它的重量还有形状,然后就能在VR数字世界中看到它。脑子也很清楚自己处在VR中,而且CGI渲染非常逼真。真的是太逼真了,感觉房间里没有映射到实物的东西都很危险,你看到什么东西,特别想坐下去,但是其实实物并不存在。后来我去了他们实验室,整个团队热情洋溢,就是那种最棒的VR实验室的感觉。这是一个阁楼空间,有3D打印机,用快速成型技术制造硬件,紧锣密鼓进行着。而且还有一个中年阿姨,用老牌缝纫机把塑料和氨纶纤维缝起来,做成全身衣服,每隔五米就有一台咖啡机。就单说这样充满活力和激情的工作环境就让我很受鼓舞。

pa北京诺亦腾Project Alice

PIG:由于缺乏真正的VR体验和真正的商业模式,西方也处在“幻想破灭低谷期”。中国是不是也会经历同样的历程呢?

KG:我的一些中国公司的朋友,不论是做内容开发还是做软件的,都跟我说2016年夏季找投资要比15年难多了。现在投资人都疑虑重重,不像以前那么愿意砸钱。但好处就在于,这也会把真正投身VR的人跟那些只是玩玩看的人区分开来,现在大家都可以退一步真的去想想VR的商业模式到底在哪里。现在大家都跟去年一样,火急火燎,但是这并不意味着已经有所收获。如果大家现在都开发软硬件,开发内容,却没有真正的发行渠道,没有产业链,那其实也只是夸夸其谈。

投资者也真的要去思考一下,是不是愿意打一场长久战。尤其是在中国很多投资者都急功近利,根本不现实。从开发到制作,再到后期,还有政府审批(中国一般要一个月到半年的时间),才能发行,只有到这时候才能开始有所收益。所以其实至少要等上一两年才能稍稍看到一点收入,要想获利就更有的等了。如果你不愿意等,那干脆别浪费自己的时间,也别浪费别人的时间。有人投钱的VR创意公司,一般想要快速获利的话,通常都会缩小创新的规模,先做一个难度不高、规模不大的产品,就是为了快速回本。

如果投资者真有胆量等一等,我觉得总会有回报的。我看到的是VR产业未来的潜力,所以我愿意参与,不是为了马上获利。不论是投资者,还是像我这样的制片人的角色,把钱投进去,想的都是项目是很有前景的。要真想做这一行,真的得有认真的态度,才能真的有成果。

OZ4A5066

PIG:国际动画与虚拟现实研究中心(iAVRrc)是做什么的?

KG:我们就是做内容的,包括VR,AR,混合现实。我们就是想证明,中国人可以在中国打造中国内容,按照可行的方法,也是可以很有吸引力的。北京电影学院院长让我自由发挥,但是有两点原则:一是不论做什么都要体现中国文化,而且是促进作用,二是要包含一些有教育意义的内容。听起来可能是我们要做一些说教内容,这样的话注定会失败。所以我们要尽量避免。我们其实是要打造一些有教育意义的内容,但是要做到你在看的时候浑然不觉就吸收了。

Where Does China’s Virtual Reality Industry Stand in 2017?

Geiger-profile

The Chinese VR industry is increasingly making headlines, both for Bloomberg’s much quoted estimate that it will be worth $8.5bn by 2020, and because it has been the first to monetize VR in any meaningful way.  Surveys show that Chinese consumers are willing to pay more than $15 per month for good content. The problem, and the opportunity, is that currently, there is very little of it.

Kevin Geiger is here to help.  The former Disney CG artist first landed in Beijing in 2008 to produce projects and teach, going on to serve as Disney China’s Vice President and Head of Creative.  A little over a year ago he founded the International Animation & Virtual Reality Research Center (iAVRrc), a virtual and augmented reality content development studio operated by China’s leading film school, the Beijing Film Academy (BFA).  Between the center, his content production company (Magic Dumpling), a regular LinkedIn presence, AWN.com blog and his own online journal, the Ohioan has become one of the more prominent western voices in Chinese animation and virtual reality.

We joined Geiger to get his take on the domestic industry at the end of 2016.

image1

PIG: In traditional media, China is generally seen to be a step back from the rest of the world.  That appears to have changed with VR.  Would you agree? 

Kevin Geiger:  In many areas of VR, China is ahead of the game.  In terms of the energy level, China ranks number one.  In terms of just the pervasive amount of hardware and software development, number one.  On quality of the locally developed hardware and software, I would not say number one. Catching up, but still back a step from the rest of the world.  There are far more experience zones in China than there are in the U.S. Even though they may be lower grade, they’re very pervasive.  There’s not nearly as much content being developed here as elsewhere for VR, and not nearly of the quality.  It feels like every VR content startup in the West is drawing on Pixar, Sony, Disney or Dreamworks for people to jump into the fray.  China doesn’t really have that bench depth, and with the investment weariness in content, people are waiting to see who else is doing what before they jump in. And, frankly, there are a lot of restrictions.  If you’re developing VR games, you fall into regulatory restrictions where have a one to four month regulatory approval period.  If you’re a startup trying to get a game onto the shelf so you can recoup your investment, that can kill you.  And of course, the content itself is tempered.  Censorship does have a chilling effect on the entire ecosystem of creative development and production, and that’s not necessarily in the service of the business, the industry, or even, ultimately, the culture.

image2iAVRrc Project: Story Forest

PIG:  Why is investment in content lagging behind hardware?

KG: Investors understand that content is the important thing.  They know it, but they really don’t have the stomach for it.  It’s more secure – but I think a false security – to invest in a widget, a piece of hardware or software, as opposed to an IP.  If you don’t get the returns you want and you’ve invested in something physical, you can sell it off and recoup something.  With IP, it’s not always the case.  I was at an event yesterday where investors were talking about their disenchantment with content, saying, “We’re pulling back from investing in content. We’re going to focus on hardware and hope the content that’s developed uses that hardware.”  I’m biased, because I’m a content guy, but I was a little surprised to hear that stated so bluntly.  It seemed a regressive approach to me, but I respect their points of view.

image3iAVRrc Project: Hutong Hunt

PIG: Do you think that attitude is widespread across China’s virtual reality industry?

KG:  I hope not.  Investors in general run the range from informed to uninformed, and from bold to risk averse.  China has enough people in every area of the ecosystem that even if 200 people say they’re not investing in content anymore, there are thousands more who are. I don’t think it’s necessarily epidemic and certainly Alvin Wang (China Regional President, HTC Vive) said he doesn’t see a chilling effect.  From his point of view, even though investors are asking more questions, he sees a widespread enthusiasm for the entire chain: hardware, software content distribution.

PIG: Which China-created VR experiences have impressed you?

KG:  I was impressed by Noitom’s Project Alice here in Beijing – this mixed reality experience of physically holding a bar stool in my hand, feeling the weight and the shape of it and seeing a digital representation of it in VR.  I was very aware that I was in VR, and the CGI rendering was not photoreal, but it didn’t have to be. It was so compelling that, very quickly, the other things in the room that were not mapped to a physical object became dangerous because I would want to sit on something that didn’t turn out to have a physical corollary.  When I visited their lab, the enthusiasm of the team really had that buzz that you expect at the best places.  It’s a big loft space with a 3D printer for rapid prototyping pieces of hardware on the fly.  There’s this middle aged Chinese seamstress on an old Singer sewing machine stitching together plastic and spandex full body suits. Espresso machines every five meters. Just the energy and the enthusiasm of the people working there is encouraging to me.

paNoitom Project Alice

PIG: With the dearth of truly spectacular experiences or a real business model, the West is arguably in the “trough of disillusionment” when it comes to VR.  Can we expect something similar in China?

KG: Friends of mine in Chinese companies, whether they’re developing content or software, have said it was much easier to get money in Summer 2015 than it is has been this Summer (2016).  The people who are still investing have more questions than they used to, whereas before they were just throwing money at you.   The silver lining is that it will separate the serious from the non-serious and have everybody take a breath and figure out, okay, what is the business model?  Everybody with their heads on fire, as they were a year ago, doesn’t necessarily mean that something’s being accomplished.  If everybody just starts developing hardware, software or content, without any real way to distribute it, with no pipeline, then it’s all just a lot of pomp and circumstance for nothing. 

Investors need to really think about if they’re in it for the long term or not. Especially in China, many investors are very unrealistic in terms of the simple mathematics of how long it takes to get a return.  Take the time of development, production, post and the approval process time – which in China is one month to a half year – then add the distribution, and only then is your first revenue trickling back.  You’re talking about a year or two at least before you can start to see any kind of revenue, let alone profit.  So if you’re not in it for that, don’t waste your time or the time of the people who you’re giving money to.  A VR startup with investors that want a quick turnaround on profit is always required to undercut the more innovative things it’s trying to do and come out with a dumbed-down, scaled-down version, just to try to make a quick buck.

If investors do have a stomach for it, I think there’s a payoff.  I see a future and that’s why I’m involved, but it’s not a quick buck kind of situation.  It’s going to be about putting money in, whether that’s an investor, or a producer like myself deferring fees on a project that I think will advance something.  I think that’s really what’s required to get the seriousness that you need for true progress.

OZ4A5066

PIG: What does the International Animation and Virtual Reality Research Center do?

KG: We’re squarely focused on content, across virtual, augmented and mixed reality.  We’re trying to demonstrate that it’s possible to create Chinese content in China by Chinese that follows the prescriptions of what’s permissible, but can also still be engaging.  The Deans of the school gave me a pretty wide berth, but the two guidelines are: one, everything we do has to represent Chinese culture and represent it in a favorable way, and two, that there should be some educational component.  That might sound like a recipe for disaster, where you’re going to end up with this didactic or preachy bit of content, right?  That’s what we’re trying not to do.  We’re trying to have the medicine taste good so that you don’t notice that you’re being taught something.